Presentation of Evidence in CME Programs

Presentation of Evidence in CME Programs

So I said that the last article I read was my least favorite…well this one beats it by far. I am not sure how these titles grab me and then I read the abstract and it sounds interesting, yet I continue to read and I am bored to pieces at first…
Starting off I will say that this article was at least a little more organized and easy to follow. Overall it looked at three basic questions related to CME:
1. How is research presented in CME conferences?
2. How well do learners who attend CME programs and speakers who teach in them understand relative and absolute terms?
3. What are the learners’ preferences about presentation of research data in CME programs?
First I had to start out by learning the difference between relative and absolute terms. I thought I understood until I continued to read and then I realized I needed to clarify. Relative values are subjective, depending on an individual. So someone’s cultural or personal views could persuade the relative value. Absolute value is what its, almost factual. Relative value changes and absolute value remains constant. (This was about as simple as I had to make it in order to understand it)
So the first questions analyzed that most information is presented in power point formats within these CME conferences. Two researchers then analyzed the slides to see what information was in relative terms versus absolute terms. They then watched the videotapes the corresponded to see if the ideas of absolute and relative values lines up with what was on the slides (power point). Over all analysis showed that most speakers presented in neither of the terms, but 84 percent in generalized terms.
The next questions was really a mostly even split for the most part it and it seemed that many of the attendees did understood what relative versus absolute terms were, but could not explain or teach it to someone else. More of the speakers had better confidence in knowing what the difference was as well as felt comfortable teaching or explaining t to others. I think that this is possibly the most important question analyzed. I mean how can someone teach someone something if they don’t know what it means? I am actually pretty surprised at how many people expressed they did not know the difference.
The next question showed many preferences from the learners and/or attendees. Some expressed that they liked to learn in anecdotal evidence. Other stated that they would like a statistic ‘refresher’ prior to certain CME conferences because of all of the evidence shown.
Overall the more I thought about the article afterwards while coming up with an outline for this response the more sense it made. I mean really this almost relates to the presentations that we will be doing in class. The researchers in this article looked at CME conferences, its speakers and attendees; to find out what the best approach to learning was for certain topics. It proved to be beneficial for them and I am sure that it will guide future CMR conferences and modes of presentation.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Presentation of Evidence in CME Programs

  1. Although I have not read the piece, with your critique it certainly sounds like there is potential for its value.

Leave a Reply

